It is the capital city of the department of the same name, where the commercial, administrative and main services activities are concentrated. It is located between kilometers 207 and 208 of route 9 and was founded on November 23, 1793 at the urging of Rafael Pérez del Puerto, who arrived in 1777 in an expedition from Spain, with the name of Our Lady of the Remedies of Rocha. This name originates in the surname of Luis Rocha, who settled in this region, then semi-desert, to dedicate himself to the leather work. In Galician and Portuguese, the word "rocha" means field ready to be sown.
Structured on checkerboard street plan, with low constructions and narrow streets, it offers visitors a varied offer to captivate their days of rest. It is a city traversed by a rich history that can be experienced in every corner. Several houses and cobblestone streets of the downtown blocks show traces of what the city was at the beginning of the last century.
Some of its attractions include the Church of Our Lady of Remedies, located on the streets 25 de Agosto and Gral. Artigas, being the first major construction of the city, at the end of 17th century.